Kearny Generating Station
Natural gas power plant in Hudson County, New Jersey. 605 MW of nameplate capacity across 10 generators, operated by Parkway Generation Operating, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 2404
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 605 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 10 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2001First generator online
- Operator
- Parkway Generation Operating, LLCEIA operator ID 67826
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 10 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Hudson County, NJ40.7373, −74.0965
- EIA plant ID
- 2404EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Kearny produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
270 GWh
270,062 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
5.1%
2024: 2.7%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
89.2–720.1
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 29,657 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 199,908 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 251,488 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 189,549 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2004 | 199,460 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 160,547 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 237,138 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 215,411 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 144,730 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 76,676 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 174,044 | 3.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 81,944 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 292,046 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 377,405 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 581,500 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 720,143 | 13.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 557,586 | 10.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 238,892 | 4.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 297,182 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 89,159 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 92,576 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 134,547 | 2.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 243,072 | 4.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 132,305 | 2.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 141,115 | 2.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 270,062 | 5.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
187,912
US short tons. 2024: 104,274
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
30
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.70 t
About 1,392 lb per MWh
10 of 10 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (121, 122, 123, 124, 131, 132, 133, 134, and others), matched to EIA plant 2404 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 131 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | June 2012 |
| 132 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | June 2012 |
| 133 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | June 2012 |
| 134 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | June 2012 |
| 141 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | June 2012 |
| 142 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | June 2012 |
| N121 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | August 2001 |
| N122 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | August 2001 |
| N123 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | August 2001 |
| N124 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | August 2001 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Parkway Generation Operating, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Kearny Generating Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Kearny
More plants operated by Parkway Generation Operating, LLC
Questions about Kearny
How much power does Kearny Generating Station produce?
Kearny Generating Station reported 270,062 MWh (270 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 5.1% capacity factor on 605 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Kearny Generating Station?
Kearny Generating Station is in Hudson County, New Jersey, at 40.7373, −74.0965. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates Kearny Generating Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Parkway Generation Operating, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 67826). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Kearny Generating Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2001, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Kearny Generating Station?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 10 price nodes linked to Kearny Generating Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page