HydroOperatingCAISO

Big Creek 2A

Hydro power plant in Fresno County, California. 55 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Southern California Edison Co.

Also known as Big Creek 2A Power Station · EIA plant 322

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Big Creek 8Mammoth PoolBig Creek 1J S EastwoodBig Creek 3Big Creek 2A2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 9.1 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
55 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 1928First generator online
Operator
Southern California Edison CoEIA operator ID 17609
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Fresno County, CA37.2001, −119.3068
EIA plant ID
322EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Big Creek 2A produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

259 GWh

258,929 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

26.9%

2024: 42.8%

January to July 2026

155 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

111.8–506.0

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000513,903Not reported12 of 12
2001280,088Not reported12 of 12
2002413,943Not reported12 of 12
2003494,391Not reported12 of 12
2004401,919Not reported12 of 12
2005680,750Not reported12 of 12
2006528,419Not reported12 of 12
2007286,672Not reported12 of 12
200817,684Not reported12 of 12
2009325,437Not reported12 of 12
2010523,88254.4%12 of 12
2011414,18643.0%12 of 12
2012257,70926.7%12 of 12
2013217,74222.6%12 of 12
2014207,24921.5%12 of 12
2015111,80311.6%12 of 12
2016359,24437.2%12 of 12
2017206,07421.4%12 of 12
2018447,13546.4%12 of 12
2019505,66952.5%12 of 12
2020215,12722.3%12 of 12
2021243,82525.3%12 of 12
2022209,40721.7%12 of 12
2023506,04752.5%12 of 12
2024413,77342.8%12 of 12
2025258,92926.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)155,24027.7%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric55.0August 1928

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southern California Edison Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Big Creek 2A and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Big Creek 2A

More plants operated by Southern California Edison Co

Questions about Big Creek 2A

How much power does Big Creek 2A produce?

Big Creek 2A reported 258,929 MWh (259 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 26.9% capacity factor on 55 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 155 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Big Creek 2A?

Big Creek 2A is in Fresno County, California, at 37.2001, −119.3068. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Big Creek 2A?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southern California Edison Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 17609). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Big Creek 2A start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 1928, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Big Creek 2A?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Big Creek 2A, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page