HydroOperatingCAISO

Bishop Creek 5

Hydro power plant in Inyo County, California. 4.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Southern California Edison Co.

Also known as Bishop Creek Plant 5 · EIA plant 326

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Bishop Creek 6Bishop Creek 4Bishop Creek 3Pleasant Valley HydroBishop Creek 2Control GorgeBishop Creek 55 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 13 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
4.5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1919First generator online
Operator
Southern California Edison CoEIA operator ID 17609
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Inyo County, CA37.3344, −118.4797
EIA plant ID
326EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Bishop Creek 5 produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

10.7 GWh

10,671 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

27.1%

2024: 34.7%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

5.0–19.9

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200016,059Not reported12 of 12
200113,293Not reported12 of 12
20027,803Not reported12 of 12
200313,889Not reported12 of 12
200414,169Not reported12 of 12
200517,336Not reported12 of 12
200621,035Not reported12 of 12
200710,164Not reported12 of 12
200812,083Not reported12 of 12
200912,364Not reported12 of 12
201015,49639.3%12 of 12
201118,99948.2%12 of 12
201212,17630.8%12 of 12
20138,65221.9%12 of 12
20146,09115.5%12 of 12
20154,97112.6%12 of 12
201610,84227.4%12 of 12
201719,93850.6%12 of 12
201816,27241.3%12 of 12
201917,35144.0%12 of 12
202013,69134.6%12 of 12
20218,73322.2%12 of 12
20227,05017.9%12 of 12
202313,70234.8%12 of 12
202413,70634.7%12 of 12
202510,67127.1%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric2.0May 1943
2Conventional Hydroelectric2.5June 1919

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southern California Edison Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Bishop Creek 5 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Bishop Creek 5

More plants operated by Southern California Edison Co

Questions about Bishop Creek 5

How much power does Bishop Creek 5 produce?

Bishop Creek 5 reported 10,671 MWh (10.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 27.1% capacity factor on 4.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Bishop Creek 5?

Bishop Creek 5 is in Inyo County, California, at 37.3344, −118.4797. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Bishop Creek 5?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southern California Edison Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 17609). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Bishop Creek 5 start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1919, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Bishop Creek 5?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Bishop Creek 5, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page