Natural gasOperatingPJM

Chesterfield

Natural gas power plant in Chesterfield County, Virginia. 446.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Virginia Electric & Power Co.

Also known as Chesterfield Power Station · EIA plant 3797

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Spruance Operating Services LLCPhilip MorrisChesterfield Landfill GasHopewell Power StationDarbytownChesterfield5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 13 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
446.6 MWNameplate
Generators
4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1990First generator online
Operator
Virginia Electric & Power CoEIA operator ID 19876
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
4 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Chesterfield County, VA37.3822, −77.3833
EIA plant ID
3797EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Chesterfield produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

2.07 TWh

2,070,103 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

52.9%

2024: Not reported

January to July 2026

1.42 TWh

Provisional

Range, 2016 to 2025

2.1–8.7

TWh a year. Low 2025, high 2016

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20009,535,230Not reported12 of 12
20019,908,478Not reported12 of 12
20029,609,417Not reported12 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20048,283,292Not reported12 of 12
20059,049,285Not reported12 of 12
20068,342,370Not reported12 of 12
20079,761,051Not reported12 of 12
20088,825,877Not reported12 of 12
20098,968,536Not reported10 of 12
20108,824,67856.0%12 of 12
20112,738,54841.4%5 of 12
20126,360,36840.2%12 of 12
20139,040,59457.4%12 of 12
20148,744,31960.4%11 of 12
20158,807,99367.1%10 of 12
20168,687,88355.0%12 of 12
20176,447,51340.9%12 of 12
20184,149,67731.6%10 of 12
20193,614,833Not reported12 of 12
20203,486,27426.5%12 of 12
20213,037,85025.2%11 of 12
20223,292,15025.1%12 of 12
20232,429,174Not reported12 of 12
2024Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20252,070,10352.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)1,420,66662.5%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

954,633

US short tons. 2024: 933,563

SO₂, 2025

15

US short tons

NOx, 2025

994

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.46 t

About 922 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (**8A, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7), matched to EIA plant 3797 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

59,530

million gallons

Consumption, 2024

0

million gallons

Source

James River

Surface, Fresh. Once-through

Watershed stress

Very low/none · 0.164

USGS SUI, HUC12 Curles Creek-James River

24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CT7Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle145.0June 1990
CT8Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle148.0May 1992
CW7Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle74.4June 1990
CW8Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle79.2May 1992

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Virginia Electric & Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Chesterfield and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Chesterfield

More plants operated by Virginia Electric & Power Co

Questions about Chesterfield

How much power does Chesterfield produce?

Chesterfield reported 2,070,103 MWh (2.07 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 52.9% capacity factor on 446.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.42 TWh, which is provisional.

Where is Chesterfield?

Chesterfield is in Chesterfield County, Virginia, at 37.3822, −77.3833. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Chesterfield?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Virginia Electric & Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 19876). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Chesterfield start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1990, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Chesterfield?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Chesterfield, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page