HydroOperatingPJM

Radford

Hydro power plant in Pulaski County, Virginia. 1 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by City of Radford - (VA).

Also known as Radford Hydro · EIA plant 3827

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Radford Army Ammunition PlantNew RiverWythe County SolarCelanese Acetate LLCCaden Energix Wytheville LLCRadford20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 44 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 1934First generator online
Operator
City of Radford - (VA)EIA operator ID 15619
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Pulaski County, VA37.0784, −80.5727
EIA plant ID
3827EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Radford produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

4.98 GWh

4,979 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

56.8%

2024: 52.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2019 to 2025

2.2–6.4

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
20013,178Not reported12 of 12
20022,986Not reported12 of 12
20037,517Not reported12 of 12
20044,828Not reported12 of 12
20052,988Not reported12 of 12
20064,283Not reported12 of 12
20073,824Not reported12 of 12
20082,242Not reported12 of 12
20093,347Not reported12 of 12
20103,08035.2%12 of 12
20114,16747.6%12 of 12
20124,13247.0%12 of 12
20133,11835.6%12 of 12
20143,08935.3%12 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20196,39473.0%12 of 12
20203,92444.7%12 of 12
20212,16624.7%12 of 12
20226,08769.5%12 of 12
20236,05669.1%12 of 12
20244,61952.6%12 of 12
20254,97956.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric1.0October 1934

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Radford - (VA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Radford and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Radford

Questions about Radford

How much power does Radford produce?

Radford reported 4,979 MWh (4.98 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 56.8% capacity factor on 1 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Radford?

Radford is in Pulaski County, Virginia, at 37.0784, −80.5727. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Radford?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Radford - (VA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 15619). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Radford start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 1934, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page