FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station
Coal power plant in Monongalia County, West Virginia. 1,152 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Monongahela Power Co.
Also known as Fort Martin Power Station · EIA plant 3943
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,152 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1967First generator online
- Operator
- Monongahela Power CoEIA operator ID 12796
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Monongalia County, WV39.7108, −79.9275
- EIA plant ID
- 3943EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power FirstEnergy Fort Martin produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
6.13 TWh
6,131,291 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
60.8%
2024: 38.2%
January to July 2026
2.51 TWh
Provisional. 6 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.9–7.3
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 7,837,630 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 6,890,453 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 7,855,193 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 7,728,246 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 7,669,503 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 7,060,817 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 8,038,844 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 6,877,539 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 6,798,071 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 4,085,340 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,335,397 | 62.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 7,124,062 | 70.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,554,695 | 54.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 7,914,161 | 78.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 6,168,169 | 66.8% | 11 of 12 |
| 2015 | 7,296,430 | 72.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 6,806,129 | 67.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 6,266,279 | 62.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 6,014,055 | 59.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 6,701,026 | 66.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,073,932 | 50.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 5,208,498 | 51.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,954,208 | 49.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,367,854 | 43.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,860,539 | 38.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 6,131,291 | 60.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,505,220 | 50.1% | 6 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
6.33M
US short tons. 2024: 3.97M
SO₂, 2025
2,806
US short tons
NOx, 2025
8,640
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.03 t
About 2,063 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 3943 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
2,421
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,322
million gallons
Source
Monongahela River
Surface, Fresh. Natural-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.162
USGS SUI, HUC12 West Run-Monongahela River
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 576.0 | October 1967 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 576.0 | December 1968 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Monongahela Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near FirstEnergy Fort Martin
More plants operated by Monongahela Power Co
Questions about FirstEnergy Fort Martin
How much power does FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station produce?
FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station reported 6,131,291 MWh (6.13 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 60.8% capacity factor on 1,152 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.51 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station?
FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station is in Monongalia County, West Virginia, at 39.7108, −79.9275. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Monongahela Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 12796). The operator is not always the owner.
When did FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1967, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to FirstEnergy Fort Martin Power Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page