HydroOperatingMISO

Menomonie

Hydro power plant in Dunn County, Wisconsin. 5.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Northern States Power Co - Minnesota.

Also known as EIA plant 4009

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Cedar Falls (WI)Downsville DPC SolarWalleye (Dunn 2)Hay River (Dunn 1)Elk MoundMenomonie10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 29 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5.4 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1958First generator online
Operator
Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaEIA operator ID 13781
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Dunn County, WI44.8842, −91.9294
EIA plant ID
4009EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Menomonie produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

22.7 GWh

22,714 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

48.0%

2024: 51.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

22.7–31.7

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200023,584Not reported12 of 12
200121,581Not reported12 of 12
200231,373Not reported12 of 12
200325,605Not reported12 of 12
200424,920Not reported12 of 12
200521,808Not reported12 of 12
200618,270Not reported12 of 12
200717,724Not reported12 of 12
200821,543Not reported12 of 12
200916,070Not reported12 of 12
201020,20142.7%12 of 12
201120,55343.4%12 of 12
201214,07529.7%12 of 12
201316,945Not reported12 of 12
201429,47762.3%12 of 12
201529,64462.7%12 of 12
201631,73266.9%12 of 12
201729,70262.8%12 of 12
201826,72556.5%12 of 12
201931,70467.0%12 of 12
202030,73764.8%12 of 12
202124,54151.9%12 of 12
202222,98748.6%12 of 12
202324,24451.3%12 of 12
202424,46951.6%12 of 12
202522,71448.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric2.7January 1958
2Conventional Hydroelectric2.7January 1958

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Northern States Power Co - Minnesota as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Menomonie and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Menomonie

More plants operated by Northern States Power Co - Minnesota

Questions about Menomonie

How much power does Menomonie produce?

Menomonie reported 22,714 MWh (22.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 48.0% capacity factor on 5.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Menomonie?

Menomonie is in Dunn County, Wisconsin, at 44.8842, −91.9294. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Menomonie?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Northern States Power Co - Minnesota as the operator (EIA operator ID 13781). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Menomonie start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1958, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Menomonie?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Menomonie, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page