HydroOperatingMISO

Wausau

Hydro power plant in Marathon County, Wisconsin. 5.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Wisconsin Public Service Corp.

Also known as EIA plant 4077

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Rothschild Biomass Cogen FacilityDomtar Paper Company RothschildWestonMosinee MillWausau10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 25 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5.4 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 1921First generator online
Operator
Wisconsin Public Service CorpEIA operator ID 20860
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Marathon County, WI44.9575, −89.6367
EIA plant ID
4077EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Wausau produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

24.5 GWh

24,469 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

51.7%

2024: 39.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

15.9–41.4

GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200028,980Not reported12 of 12
200130,326Not reported12 of 12
200237,503Not reported12 of 12
200326,921Not reported12 of 12
200426,011Not reported12 of 12
200522,397Not reported12 of 12
200624,146Not reported12 of 12
200720,010Not reported12 of 12
200819,170Not reported12 of 12
200916,918Not reported12 of 12
201027,20257.5%12 of 12
201130,17763.8%12 of 12
201217,77037.5%12 of 12
201328,13359.5%12 of 12
201431,59866.8%12 of 12
201531,25066.1%12 of 12
201640,38085.1%12 of 12
201739,73984.0%12 of 12
201823,06648.8%12 of 12
201915,87033.5%12 of 12
202041,35487.2%12 of 12
202130,49064.5%12 of 12
202229,03961.4%12 of 12
202322,79648.2%12 of 12
202418,56539.1%12 of 12
202524,46951.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric1.8March 1921
2Conventional Hydroelectric1.8May 1921
3Conventional Hydroelectric1.8March 1924

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Wisconsin Public Service Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Wausau and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Wausau

More plants operated by Wisconsin Public Service Corp

Questions about Wausau

How much power does Wausau produce?

Wausau reported 24,469 MWh (24.5 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 51.7% capacity factor on 5.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Wausau?

Wausau is in Marathon County, Wisconsin, at 44.9575, −89.6367. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Wausau?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Wisconsin Public Service Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 20860). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Wausau start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 1921, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Wausau?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Wausau, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page