HydroOperatingTIDC

La Grange

Hydro power plant in Stanislaus County, California. 4.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Turlock Irrigation District.

Also known as EIA plant 440

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Upper DawsonDon PedroTurlock LakeExchequerMerced FallsMoccasin Low Head Hydro ProjectLa Grange10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 20 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
4.5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1924First generator online
Operator
Turlock Irrigation DistrictEIA operator ID 19281
Grid
TIDCBalancing authority TIDC
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Stanislaus County, CA37.6697, −120.4436
EIA plant ID
440EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power La Grange produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

6.61 GWh

6,613 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

16.8%

2024: 11.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

4.4–13.6

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200028,826Not reported12 of 12
200114,657Not reported12 of 12
200210,050Not reported12 of 12
200314,449Not reported12 of 12
200415,405Not reported12 of 12
200530,325Not reported12 of 12
200634,439Not reported12 of 12
200715,621Not reported12 of 12
200810,025Not reported12 of 12
20099,384Not reported12 of 12
201023,25059.0%12 of 12
201135,84990.9%12 of 12
201215,05038.1%12 of 12
20139,50124.1%12 of 12
20147,65719.4%12 of 12
20157,91820.1%12 of 12
20169,54024.1%12 of 12
20175,54414.1%12 of 12
20188,37421.2%12 of 12
201910,74927.3%12 of 12
202013,64334.5%12 of 12
20217,34518.6%12 of 12
20225,98215.2%12 of 12
20238,21320.8%12 of 12
20244,35911.0%12 of 12
20256,61316.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric1.2December 1924
2Conventional Hydroelectric3.3December 1924

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Turlock Irrigation District as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query La Grange and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near La Grange

More plants operated by Turlock Irrigation District

Questions about La Grange

How much power does La Grange produce?

La Grange reported 6,613 MWh (6.61 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 16.8% capacity factor on 4.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is La Grange?

La Grange is in Stanislaus County, California, at 37.6697, −120.4436. It is in the Turlock Irrigation District balancing area (TIDC).

Who operates La Grange?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Turlock Irrigation District as the operator (EIA operator ID 19281). The operator is not always the owner.

When did La Grange start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1924, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page