Other fuelsOperatingERCOT

Texas City Plant Union Carbide

Other fuels power plant in Galveston County, Texas. 25.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Union Carbide Corp-Texas City.

Also known as EIA plant 50153

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

GCWAHeightsTexas City Plant Unio…1 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 2.4 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
25.8 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 1996First generator online
Operator
Union Carbide Corp-Texas CityEIA operator ID 39066
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
1 ERCOT nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Galveston County, TX29.3761, −94.9465
EIA plant ID
50153EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Texas City Plant Union Carbide produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

82.8 GWh

82,810 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: 12.7%

January to July 2026

66.8 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

50.1–108.6

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000500,783Not reported12 of 12
2001452,034Not reported12 of 12
2002415,319Not reported12 of 12
2003104,016Not reported10 of 12
2004244,318Not reported12 of 12
2005167,756Not reported12 of 12
2006187,356Not reported12 of 12
2007186,063Not reported12 of 12
2008246,874Not reported12 of 12
2009258,831Not reported12 of 12
2010155,65618.5%12 of 12
201198,05411.7%12 of 12
201297,78711.6%12 of 12
201394,07111.2%12 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201581,83316.7%12 of 12
2016108,62922.1%12 of 12
201781,370Not reported12 of 12
201851,43913.0%12 of 12
201970,34617.8%12 of 12
202057,85614.6%12 of 12
202167,97117.2%12 of 12
202258,60714.9%12 of 12
202373,89918.7%12 of 12
202450,09912.7%12 of 12
202582,810Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)66,79350.9%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
STGAll Other25.8March 1996

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Union Carbide Corp-Texas City as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Texas City Plant Union Carbide and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Texas City Plant Union Carbide

Questions about Texas City Plant Union Carbide

How much power does Texas City Plant Union Carbide produce?

Texas City Plant Union Carbide reported 82,810 MWh (82.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 66.8 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Texas City Plant Union Carbide?

Texas City Plant Union Carbide is in Galveston County, Texas, at 29.3761, −94.9465. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Texas City Plant Union Carbide?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Union Carbide Corp-Texas City as the operator (EIA operator ID 39066). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Texas City Plant Union Carbide start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 1996, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Texas City Plant Union Carbide?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Texas City Plant Union Carbide, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page