Gary Works
Natural gas power plant in Lake County, Indiana. 161 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by United States Steel-Gary.
Also known as Gary Works Power Station · EIA plant 50733
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 161 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 1997First generator online
- Operator
- United States Steel-GaryEIA operator ID 19526
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Lake County, IN41.6224, −87.3289
- EIA plant ID
- 50733EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Gary Works produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
950 GWh
950,442 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
394 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.7–1.3
TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 978,712 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 854,851 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 933,843 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 772,621 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 913,706 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 721,693 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 789,889 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 755,256 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 711,977 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 598,487 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 798,137 | 56.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 856,227 | 60.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 847,965 | 60.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 810,947 | 57.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 796,289 | 56.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 707,468 | 50.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 712,563 | 50.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 993,444 | 70.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,166,455 | 82.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 1,232,630 | 87.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,296,124 | 91.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,253,327 | 88.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,029,555 | 73.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,217,968 | 86.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 894,792 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 950,442 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 394,262 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
67,401
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
24,334
million gallons
Source
Lake Michigan
Surface, Fresh. Once-through
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Great Lakes intake; a shoreline HUC12 does not describe the lake; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| STG1 | Other Gases | 161.0 | April 1997 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists United States Steel-Gary as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Gary Works and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Gary Works
Questions about Gary Works
How much power does Gary Works produce?
Gary Works reported 950,442 MWh (950 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 394 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Gary Works?
Gary Works is in Lake County, Indiana, at 41.6224, −87.3289. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Gary Works?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists United States Steel-Gary as the operator (EIA operator ID 19526). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Gary Works start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 1997, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page