Spokane Waste to Energy
Municipal solid waste power plant in Spokane County, Washington. 26 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by City of Spokane - (WA).
Also known as Spokane Waste to Energy Plant · EIA plant 50886
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 26 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- September 1991First generator online
- Operator
- City of Spokane - (WA)EIA operator ID 42892
- Grid
- AVABalancing authority AVA
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Spokane County, WA47.6263, −117.5042
- EIA plant ID
- 50886EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Spokane Waste to Energy produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
135 GWh
134,535 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
59.1%
2024: 58.0%
January to July 2026
77.5 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
106.3–134.5
GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 138,686 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 145,952 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 119,731 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2004 | 148,587 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 147,323 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 141,330 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 141,748 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 128,131 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 133,989 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 141,498 | 62.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 143,383 | 63.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 140,298 | 61.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 136,892 | 60.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 132,721 | 58.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 110,118 | 48.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 122,486 | 53.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 115,875 | 50.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 123,285 | 54.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 121,031 | 53.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 125,280 | 54.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 119,619 | 52.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 106,279 | 46.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 124,693 | 54.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 132,379 | 58.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 134,535 | 59.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 77,482 | 58.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Municipal Solid Waste | 26.0 | September 1991 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Spokane - (WA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Spokane Waste to Energy and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Spokane Waste to Energy
More plants operated by City of Spokane - (WA)
Questions about Spokane Waste to Energy
How much power does Spokane Waste to Energy produce?
Spokane Waste to Energy reported 134,535 MWh (135 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 59.1% capacity factor on 26 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 77.5 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Spokane Waste to Energy?
Spokane Waste to Energy is in Spokane County, Washington, at 47.6263, −117.5042. It is in the Avista Corporation balancing area (AVA).
Who operates Spokane Waste to Energy?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Spokane - (WA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 42892). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Spokane Waste to Energy start operating?
Its first generator began operating in September 1991, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page