Upper Falls
Hydro power plant in Spokane County, Washington. 10 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Avista Corp.
Also known as Upper Falls Powerhouse · EIA plant 9096
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 10 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 1922First generator online
- Operator
- Avista CorpEIA operator ID 20169
- Grid
- AVABalancing authority AVA
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Spokane County, WA47.6544, −117.4189
- EIA plant ID
- 9096EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Upper Falls produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
42.0 GWh
42,013 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
48.0%
2024: 68.2%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
38.4–68.4
GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2017
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 76,216 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 66,293 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 74,623 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 66,569 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 70,769 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 71,315 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 68,785 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 62,668 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 77,977 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 51,612 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 71,163 | 81.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 73,289 | 83.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 59,630 | 67.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 68,384 | 78.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 67,033 | 76.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 38,374 | 43.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 62,708 | 71.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 68,396 | 78.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 61,161 | 69.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 66,538 | 76.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 58,141 | 66.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 56,179 | 64.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 64,085 | 73.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 59,914 | 68.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 59,922 | 68.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 42,013 | 48.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 10.0 | April 1922 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Avista Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Upper Falls and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Upper Falls
More plants operated by Avista Corp
Questions about Upper Falls
How much power does Upper Falls produce?
Upper Falls reported 42,013 MWh (42.0 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 48.0% capacity factor on 10 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Upper Falls?
Upper Falls is in Spokane County, Washington, at 47.6544, −117.4189. It is in the Avista Corporation balancing area (AVA).
Who operates Upper Falls?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Avista Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 20169). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Upper Falls start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 1922, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page