Coyote Springs II
Natural gas power plant in Morrow County, Oregon. 287 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Avista Corp.
Also known as EIA plant 7931
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 287 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Avista CorpEIA operator ID 20169
- Grid
- BPATBalancing authority BPAT
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Morrow County, OR45.8480, −119.6740
- EIA plant ID
- 7931EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Coyote Springs II produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.16 TWh
2,159,888 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
85.9%
2024: 92.3%
January to July 2026
770 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.5–2.3
TWh a year. Low 2018, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | 714,581 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2004 | 660,133 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 1,583,391 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,459,337 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,622,778 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 1,696,319 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 1,559,367 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 1,661,182 | 66.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 705,062 | 28.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 1,142,118 | 45.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,796,280 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,493,933 | 59.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,891,951 | 75.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,765,406 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,659,029 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,495,191 | 59.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 1,890,016 | 75.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,767,332 | 70.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,533,635 | 61.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,844,243 | 73.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,263,061 | 90.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,325,857 | 92.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,159,888 | 85.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 770,013 | 52.7% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
896,162
US short tons. 2024: 958,944
SO₂, 2025
5
US short tons
NOx, 2025
95
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.41 t
About 830 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CTG2), matched to EIA plant 7931 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
574
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
470
million gallons
Source
Municipal
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.138
USGS SUI, HUC12 Whitcomb Island-Lake Umatilla
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 170.0 | July 2003 |
| 2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 117.0 | July 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Avista Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Coyote Springs II and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Coyote Springs II
More plants operated by Avista Corp
Questions about Coyote Springs II
How much power does Coyote Springs II produce?
Coyote Springs II reported 2,159,888 MWh (2.16 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 85.9% capacity factor on 287 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 770 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Coyote Springs II?
Coyote Springs II is in Morrow County, Oregon, at 45.8480, −119.6740. It is in the Bonneville Power Administration balancing area (BPAT).
Who operates Coyote Springs II?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Avista Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 20169). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Coyote Springs II start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page