Natural gasOperatingBANC

McClellan (CA)

Natural gas power plant in Sacramento County, California. 77 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Sacramento Municipal Util Dist.

Also known as McClellan Power Plant · EIA plant 535

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

US GSA - SacramentoSacramento Point West…Sacramento (SMUD)Wildflower Solar 1Strata Roof 1McClellan (CA)5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 9.8 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
77 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 1986First generator online
Operator
Sacramento Municipal Util DistEIA operator ID 16534
Grid
BANCBalancing authority BANC
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Sacramento County, CA38.6527, −121.3933
EIA plant ID
535EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power McClellan (CA) produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

1.24 GWh

1,236 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.2%

2024: 0.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

1.2–10.8

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2015

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200015,750Not reported12 of 12
200178,815Not reported12 of 12
200219,135Not reported12 of 12
20032,214Not reported12 of 12
200413,445Not reported12 of 12
20054,796Not reported12 of 12
20067,771Not reported12 of 12
20073,474Not reported12 of 12
20082,049Not reported12 of 12
20093,857Not reported12 of 12
20101,8440.3%12 of 12
20111,9900.3%12 of 12
20124,3740.6%12 of 12
20133,2510.5%12 of 12
20143,7220.6%12 of 12
201510,8401.6%12 of 12
20165,2600.8%12 of 12
20178,8621.3%12 of 12
20187,0881.1%12 of 12
20192,1950.3%12 of 12
20201,4760.2%12 of 12
20214,0060.6%12 of 12
20223,6970.5%12 of 12
20232,5240.4%12 of 12
20243,3630.5%12 of 12
20251,2360.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine77.0March 1986

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Sacramento Municipal Util Dist as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query McClellan (CA) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near McClellan (CA)

More plants operated by Sacramento Municipal Util Dist

Questions about McClellan (CA)

How much power does McClellan (CA) produce?

McClellan (CA) reported 1,236 MWh (1.24 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.2% capacity factor on 77 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is McClellan (CA)?

McClellan (CA) is in Sacramento County, California, at 38.6527, −121.3933. It is in the Balancing Authority of Northern California balancing area (BANC).

Who operates McClellan (CA)?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Sacramento Municipal Util Dist as the operator (EIA operator ID 16534). The operator is not always the owner.

When did McClellan (CA) start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 1986, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page