Natural gasOperatingNYISO

Stony Brook Cogen Plant

Natural gas power plant in Suffolk County, New York. 47 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Nissequoque Cogen Partners.

Also known as EIA plant 54149

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Port JeffersonKings Park Solar IBlydenburgh Solar Pro…HoltsvilleStony Brook Cogen Plant5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 12 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
47 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
April 1995First generator online
Operator
Nissequoque Cogen PartnersEIA operator ID 13587
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Suffolk County, NY40.9168, −73.1291
EIA plant ID
54149EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Stony Brook Cogen Plant produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

285 GWh

284,605 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

69.1%

2024: 74.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

277.9–309.3

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2024

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001246,609Not reported12 of 12
2002354,762Not reported12 of 12
2003342,416Not reported12 of 12
2004322,586Not reported12 of 12
2005293,730Not reported12 of 12
2006291,926Not reported12 of 12
2007253,619Not reported12 of 12
2008269,277Not reported12 of 12
2009251,868Not reported12 of 12
2010296,25672.0%12 of 12
2011275,17066.8%12 of 12
2012309,90075.1%12 of 12
2013313,13976.1%12 of 12
2014283,32868.8%12 of 12
2015277,88467.5%12 of 12
2016285,09569.1%12 of 12
2017299,97772.9%12 of 12
2018298,48372.5%12 of 12
2019288,64970.1%12 of 12
2020295,34471.5%12 of 12
2021280,81768.2%12 of 12
2022281,81768.4%12 of 12
2023288,54470.1%12 of 12
2024309,30874.9%12 of 12
2025284,60569.1%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · NYISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

180,299

US short tons. 2024: 198,367

SO₂, 2025

1

US short tons

NOx, 2025

127

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.63 t

About 1,267 lb per MWh

1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1), matched to EIA plant 54149 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine47.0April 1995

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Nissequoque Cogen Partners as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Stony Brook Cogen Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Stony Brook Cogen Plant

Questions about Stony Brook Cogen Plant

How much power does Stony Brook Cogen Plant produce?

Stony Brook Cogen Plant reported 284,605 MWh (285 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 69.1% capacity factor on 47 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Stony Brook Cogen Plant?

Stony Brook Cogen Plant is in Suffolk County, New York, at 40.9168, −73.1291. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates Stony Brook Cogen Plant?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Nissequoque Cogen Partners as the operator (EIA operator ID 13587). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Stony Brook Cogen Plant start operating?

Its first generator began operating in April 1995, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Stony Brook Cogen Plant?

Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Stony Brook Cogen Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page