Franklin Heating Station
Natural gas and oil and other fuels power plant in Olmsted County, Minnesota. 21.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by Franklin Heating Station.
Also known as EIA plant 54224
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 21.8 MWNatural gas 11.3 · Oil and other fuels 10.5
- Generators
- 6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1951First generator online
- Operator
- Franklin Heating StationEIA operator ID 6738
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Olmsted County, MN44.0206, −92.4656
- EIA plant ID
- 54224EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Franklin Heating Station produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
64.9 GWh
64,928 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
21.8%
2024: 19.9%
January to July 2026
37.9 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
54.6–72.5
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 60,030 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 48,522 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 49,151 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 46,189 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 46,748 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 42,585 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 37,444 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 40,155 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 64,778 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 69,637 | 26.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 63,371 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 64,550 | 22.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 62,219 | 21.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 65,992 | 23.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 66,462 | 23.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 67,779 | 23.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 59,077 | 20.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 64,612 | 22.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 54,578 | 19.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 64,997 | 22.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 72,123 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 72,548 | 24.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 62,392 | 20.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 59,444 | 19.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 64,928 | 21.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 37,947 | 21.9% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| DG4 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.0 | May 2009 |
| DG5 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.0 | April 2011 |
| GEN1 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 2.5 | January 1951 |
| GEN2 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 2.5 | January 1951 |
| GEN3 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 6.3 | January 1968 |
| GEN6 | All Other | 6.5 | January 2006 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Franklin Heating Station as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Franklin Heating Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Franklin Heating Station
Questions about Franklin Heating Station
How much power does Franklin Heating Station produce?
Franklin Heating Station reported 64,928 MWh (64.9 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 21.8% capacity factor on 21.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 37.9 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Franklin Heating Station?
Franklin Heating Station is in Olmsted County, Minnesota, at 44.0206, −92.4656. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Franklin Heating Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Franklin Heating Station as the operator (EIA operator ID 6738). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Franklin Heating Station a natural gas or a oil and other fuels plant?
Both. Natural gas capacity totals 11.3 MW and oil and other fuels capacity totals 10.5 MW.
When did Franklin Heating Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1951, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page