CoalOperatingPACE

General Chemical

Coal power plant in Sweetwater County, Wyoming. 30 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Tata Chemicals Partners.

Also known as EIA plant 54318

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Sweetwater SolarShute Creek FacilitySimplot PhosphatesFontenelleGeneral Chemical25 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 55 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
30 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 1968First generator online
Operator
Tata Chemicals PartnersEIA operator ID 7067
Grid
PACEBalancing authority PACE
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Sweetwater County, WY41.5933, −109.7542
EIA plant ID
54318EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power General Chemical produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

215 GWh

215,344 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

81.9%

2024: 77.1%

January to July 2026

131 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

203.2–227.2

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001233,109Not reported12 of 12
2002242,274Not reported12 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004241,029Not reported12 of 12
2005245,588Not reported12 of 12
2006242,002Not reported12 of 12
2007233,075Not reported12 of 12
2008222,093Not reported12 of 12
2009204,754Not reported12 of 12
2010237,24190.3%12 of 12
2011234,85489.4%12 of 12
2012222,193Not reported12 of 12
2013228,66687.0%12 of 12
201421,02994.2%1 of 12
2015208,41979.3%12 of 12
2016219,49783.3%12 of 12
2017218,96483.3%12 of 12
2018227,18386.4%12 of 12
2019218,96383.3%12 of 12
2020209,50579.5%12 of 12
2021203,41577.4%12 of 12
2022212,50180.9%12 of 12
2023223,99385.2%12 of 12
2024203,15477.1%12 of 12
2025215,34481.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)130,95285.8%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
TG1Conventional Steam Coal15.0May 1968
TG2Conventional Steam Coal15.0January 1977

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Tata Chemicals Partners as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query General Chemical and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near General Chemical

Questions about General Chemical

How much power does General Chemical produce?

General Chemical reported 215,344 MWh (215 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 81.9% capacity factor on 30 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 131 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is General Chemical?

General Chemical is in Sweetwater County, Wyoming, at 41.5933, −109.7542. It is in the PacifiCorp - East balancing area (PACE).

Who operates General Chemical?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Tata Chemicals Partners as the operator (EIA operator ID 7067). The operator is not always the owner.

When did General Chemical start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 1968, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page