BiomassOperatingFPL

Okeelanta Cogeneration

Biomass power plant in Palm Beach County, Florida. 128.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by New Hope Power Company.

Also known as EIA plant 54627

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Clewiston Sugar HouseGhost Orchid Solar Energy CenterWoodyardBeautyberryWest County Energy CenterOkeelanta Cogeneration20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 39 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
128.9 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1996First generator online
Operator
New Hope Power CompanyEIA operator ID 13492
Grid
FPLBalancing authority FPL
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Palm Beach County, FL26.5769, −80.7469
EIA plant ID
54627EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Okeelanta Cogeneration produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

51.8 GWh

51,802 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

4.6%

2024: 3.6%

January to July 2026

32.7 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

40.1–223.8

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2015

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000506,468Not reported12 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200279,499Not reported3 of 12
2003484,550Not reported11 of 12
2004548,285Not reported12 of 12
2005506,480Not reported12 of 12
2006538,063Not reported12 of 12
2007515,626Not reported12 of 12
2008428,587Not reported12 of 12
2009338,892Not reported12 of 12
2010325,55728.8%12 of 12
2011279,41724.7%12 of 12
2012243,97821.5%12 of 12
2013209,06518.5%12 of 12
2014241,01721.3%12 of 12
2015223,79819.8%12 of 12
2016146,71913.0%12 of 12
201758,7025.2%12 of 12
201862,8305.6%12 of 12
201978,8737.0%12 of 12
202042,3243.7%12 of 12
202140,1333.6%12 of 12
202269,0926.1%12 of 12
202345,5054.0%12 of 12
202441,1583.6%12 of 12
202551,8024.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)32,6985.0%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

159

million gallons

Consumption, 2024

48

million gallons

Source

Canal (Lake Okeechobee)

Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower

Watershed stress

Moderate · 0.585

USGS SUI, HUC12 Hillsboro Canal-Bolles Canal

12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Other Waste Biomass74.9January 1996
GEN2Other Waste Biomass54.0August 2006

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists New Hope Power Company as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Okeelanta Cogeneration and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Okeelanta Cogeneration

Questions about Okeelanta Cogeneration

How much power does Okeelanta Cogeneration produce?

Okeelanta Cogeneration reported 51,802 MWh (51.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 4.6% capacity factor on 128.9 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 32.7 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Okeelanta Cogeneration?

Okeelanta Cogeneration is in Palm Beach County, Florida, at 26.5769, −80.7469. It is in the Florida Power & Light Company balancing area (FPL).

Who operates Okeelanta Cogeneration?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists New Hope Power Company as the operator (EIA operator ID 13492). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Okeelanta Cogeneration start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1996, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page