Acadia Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in Acadia Parish, Louisiana. 1,389.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by Cleco Power LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 55173
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,389.2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2002First generator online
- Operator
- Cleco Power LLCEIA operator ID 3265
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 8 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Acadia Parish, LA30.4286, −92.4131
- EIA plant ID
- 55173EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Acadia produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
5.82 TWh
5,819,193 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
47.8%
2024: 51.8%
January to July 2026
3.06 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
4.6–6.7
TWh a year. Low 2018, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | 515,537 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2003 | 1,732,393 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 2,358,574 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,634,632 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,321,651 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 947,986 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 807,616 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 1,165,815 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 3,046,006 | 25.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,826,112 | 23.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 4,785,503 | 39.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 3,805,772 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 4,515,316 | 37.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 6,585,897 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 6,667,548 | 54.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 4,767,264 | 39.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,556,482 | 37.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 4,816,801 | 43.3% | 11 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,400,051 | 44.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,244,316 | 38.0% | 11 of 12 |
| 2022 | 603,196 | 58.4% | 1 of 12 |
| 2023 | 5,696,264 | 46.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 5,787,348 | 51.8% | 11 of 12 |
| 2025 | 5,819,193 | 47.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,061,787 | 43.3% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
2.63M
US short tons. 2024: 2.87M
SO₂, 2025
13
US short tons
NOx, 2025
201
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.45 t
About 906 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4), matched to EIA plant 55173 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,275
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
810
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.361
USGS SUI, HUC12 Bayou Mallet
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT11 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 215.1 | July 2002 |
| CT12 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 215.1 | July 2002 |
| CT24 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 215.1 | August 2002 |
| CT25 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 215.1 | August 2002 |
| ST13 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 264.4 | July 2002 |
| ST26 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 264.4 | August 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Cleco Power LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Acadia Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Acadia
More plants operated by Cleco Power LLC
Questions about Acadia
How much power does Acadia Energy Center produce?
Acadia Energy Center reported 5,819,193 MWh (5.82 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 47.8% capacity factor on 1,389.2 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.06 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Acadia Energy Center?
Acadia Energy Center is in Acadia Parish, Louisiana, at 30.4286, −92.4131. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Acadia Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Cleco Power LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 3265). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Acadia Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2002, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Acadia Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 8 price nodes linked to Acadia Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page