Channelview Cogeneration Plant
Natural gas power plant in Harris County, Texas. 918.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by EIF Channelview Cogeneration LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 55187
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 918.3 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2001First generator online
- Operator
- EIF Channelview Cogeneration LLCEIA operator ID 56380
- Grid
- ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
- Price nodes
- 1 ERCOT nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Harris County, TX29.8370, −95.1217
- EIA plant ID
- 55187EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Channelview Cogeneration Plant produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
5.50 TWh
5,495,755 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
68.3%
2024: 71.9%
January to July 2026
2.91 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
5.0–5.8
TWh a year. Low 2023, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 515,557 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2002 | 4,108,051 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 5,648,871 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 5,280,905 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 5,127,298 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 5,229,167 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 5,212,797 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 5,172,610 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,235,225 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 5,565,397 | 69.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 5,590,267 | 69.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,358,932 | 66.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 6,280,848 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 6,008,305 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,534,208 | 67.2% | 10 of 12 |
| 2016 | 5,823,028 | 72.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 5,104,662 | 63.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 5,347,392 | 66.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 5,536,983 | 68.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,126,494 | 63.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 5,376,978 | 66.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 5,584,156 | 69.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,962,494 | 61.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 5,799,983 | 71.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 5,495,755 | 68.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,906,792 | 62.2% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ERCOTEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
3.41M
US short tons. 2024: 3.62M
SO₂, 2025
17
US short tons
NOx, 2025
303
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.62 t
About 1,241 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CHV1, CHV2, CHV3, CHV4), matched to EIA plant 55187 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
635
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
635
million gallons
Source
Multiple
Other, Other. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.205
USGS SUI, HUC12 Jackson Bayou-San Jacinto River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | June 2002 |
| GT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | June 2002 |
| GT3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | June 2002 |
| GT4 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | August 2001 |
| ST1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 149.9 | June 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists EIF Channelview Cogeneration LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Channelview Cogeneration Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Channelview Cogeneration Plant
Questions about Channelview Cogeneration Plant
How much power does Channelview Cogeneration Plant produce?
Channelview Cogeneration Plant reported 5,495,755 MWh (5.50 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 68.3% capacity factor on 918.3 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.91 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Channelview Cogeneration Plant?
Channelview Cogeneration Plant is in Harris County, Texas, at 29.8370, −95.1217. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).
Who operates Channelview Cogeneration Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists EIF Channelview Cogeneration LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 56380). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Channelview Cogeneration Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2001, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Channelview Cogeneration Plant?
Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Channelview Cogeneration Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page