Natural gasOperatingMISO

Gibson City Energy Center LLC

Natural gas power plant in Ford County, Illinois. 270 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Gibson City Energy Center LLC.

Also known as Gibson City Energy Center · EIA plant 55201

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Drummer Creek I Solar LLCFord County Wind Farm LLCBlooming Grove Wind Energy CenterSapphire Sky Wind Energy LLCRantoulGibson City Energy Center10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 27 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
270 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 2000First generator online
Operator
Gibson City Energy Center LLCEIA operator ID 64670
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
2 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Ford County, IL40.4705, −88.3987
EIA plant ID
55201EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Gibson City Energy Center produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

77.3 GWh

77,332 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

3.3%

2024: 4.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2016 to 2025

22.2–203.7

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200042,100Not reported12 of 12
200188,202Not reported11 of 12
200232,879Not reported12 of 12
200315,338Not reported12 of 12
20041,116Not reported12 of 12
200560,000Not reported12 of 12
20064,877Not reported12 of 12
200743,063Not reported12 of 12
20088,671Not reported12 of 12
20092,840Not reported1 of 12
201017,7940.8%12 of 12
201120,4490.9%12 of 12
201265,6242.8%12 of 12
20135,1800.2%12 of 12
201413,3500.6%12 of 12
201546,5332.2%11 of 12
2016113,4014.8%12 of 12
201749,6102.1%12 of 12
201879,5623.4%12 of 12
201975,0483.2%12 of 12
2020203,7488.6%12 of 12
2021153,8456.5%12 of 12
202222,1550.9%12 of 12
202375,8203.2%12 of 12
2024109,2594.6%12 of 12
202577,3323.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

54,538

US short tons. 2024: 76,319

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

35

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.71 t

About 1,410 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (GCTG1, GCTG2), matched to EIA plant 55201 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine135.0June 2000
2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine135.0July 2000

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Gibson City Energy Center LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Gibson City Energy Center LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Gibson City Energy Center

Questions about Gibson City Energy Center

How much power does Gibson City Energy Center LLC produce?

Gibson City Energy Center LLC reported 77,332 MWh (77.3 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 3.3% capacity factor on 270 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Gibson City Energy Center LLC?

Gibson City Energy Center LLC is in Ford County, Illinois, at 40.4705, −88.3987. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Gibson City Energy Center LLC?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Gibson City Energy Center LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 64670). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Gibson City Energy Center LLC start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 2000, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Gibson City Energy Center LLC?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Gibson City Energy Center LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page