Audrain Generating Station
Natural gas power plant in Audrain County, Missouri. 814.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 8 generators, operated by Union Electric Co - (MO).
Also known as Audrain Gas Power Plant · EIA plant 55234
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 814.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 8 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- February 2001First generator online
- Operator
- Union Electric Co - (MO)EIA operator ID 19436
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 8 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Audrain County, MO39.3092, −91.5369
- EIA plant ID
- 55234EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Audrain produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
403 GWh
402,766 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
5.6%
2024: 2.0%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2016 to 2025
18.7–402.8
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | 34,080 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 31,517 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 33,330 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 66,683 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 27,230 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 25,108 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 53,072 | 0.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 97,758 | 1.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 68,649 | 1.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 23,054 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,422 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,897 | 0.0% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 20,022 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 33,017 | 0.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 50,473 | 0.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 18,748 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 23,134 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 42,141 | 0.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 243,609 | 3.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 196,196 | 2.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 146,382 | 2.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 402,766 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
285,544
US short tons. 2024: 105,005
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
60
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.71 t
About 1,418 lb per MWh
8 of 8 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4, CT5, CT6, CT7, CT8), matched to EIA plant 55234 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | February 2001 |
| GT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | February 2001 |
| GT3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | February 2001 |
| GT4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | February 2001 |
| GT5 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | March 2001 |
| GT6 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | April 2001 |
| GT7 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | April 2001 |
| GT8 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.8 | April 2001 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Union Electric Co - (MO) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Audrain Generating Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Audrain
More plants operated by Union Electric Co - (MO)
Questions about Audrain
How much power does Audrain Generating Station produce?
Audrain Generating Station reported 402,766 MWh (403 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 5.6% capacity factor on 814.4 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Audrain Generating Station?
Audrain Generating Station is in Audrain County, Missouri, at 39.3092, −91.5369. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Audrain Generating Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Union Electric Co - (MO) as the operator (EIA operator ID 19436). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Audrain Generating Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in February 2001, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Audrain Generating Station?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 8 price nodes linked to Audrain Generating Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page