Labadie
Coal power plant in Franklin County, Missouri. 2,389.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Union Electric Co - (MO).
Also known as Labadie Energy Center · EIA plant 2103
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 2,389.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 1970First generator online
- Operator
- Union Electric Co - (MO)EIA operator ID 19436
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 4 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Franklin County, MO38.5622, −90.8377
- EIA plant ID
- 2103EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Labadie produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
16.7 TWh
16,728,972 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
79.9%
2024: 68.6%
January to July 2026
8.37 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
14.4–16.7
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 14,936,149 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 15,800,442 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 14,406,589 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 16,517,820 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 17,932,911 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 18,637,375 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 18,577,546 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 18,918,042 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 17,409,127 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 17,237,568 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 18,379,983 | 87.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 18,590,796 | 88.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 15,350,931 | 73.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 17,294,713 | 82.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 15,183,698 | 72.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 16,042,082 | 76.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 14,792,690 | 70.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 16,146,395 | 77.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 15,765,699 | 75.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 14,121,002 | 73.5% | 11 of 12 |
| 2020 | 16,484,492 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 16,608,055 | 79.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 16,446,112 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 15,782,494 | 75.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 14,401,714 | 68.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 16,728,972 | 79.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 8,370,446 | 68.9% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
17.85M
US short tons. 2024: 15.38M
SO₂, 2025
38,232
US short tons
NOx, 2025
7,694
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.07 t
About 2,134 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3, 4), matched to EIA plant 2103 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
437,939
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
0
million gallons
Source
Missouri River
Surface, Fresh. Once-through
Watershed stress
Low · 0.283
USGS SUI, HUC12 Labadie Creek-Missouri River
48 of 48 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 573.7 | June 1970 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 573.7 | June 1971 |
| 3 | Conventional Steam Coal | 621.0 | August 1972 |
| 4 | Conventional Steam Coal | 621.0 | August 1973 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Union Electric Co - (MO) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Labadie and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Labadie
More plants operated by Union Electric Co - (MO)
Questions about Labadie
How much power does Labadie produce?
Labadie reported 16,728,972 MWh (16.7 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 79.9% capacity factor on 2,389.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 8.37 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Labadie?
Labadie is in Franklin County, Missouri, at 38.5622, −90.8377. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Labadie?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Union Electric Co - (MO) as the operator (EIA operator ID 19436). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Labadie start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 1970, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Labadie?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Labadie, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page