Natural gasOperatingFPL

Santa Rosa Energy Center

Natural gas power plant in Santa Rosa County, Florida. 274.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Santa Rosa Energy Center LLC.

Also known as EIA plant 55242

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Pea RidgeBlackwater River Solar Energy CenterSanta Rosa10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 21 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
274.5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 2003First generator online
Operator
Santa Rosa Energy Center LLCEIA operator ID 54692
Grid
FPLBalancing authority FPL
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Santa Rosa County, FL30.5664, −87.1150
EIA plant ID
55242EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Santa Rosa produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

1.14 TWh

1,137,623 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

47.3%

2024: 59.4%

January to July 2026

790 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2016 to 2025

0.7–1.5

TWh a year. Low 2021, high 2020

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20025,840Not reported4 of 12
2003109,344Not reported12 of 12
200417,313Not reported12 of 12
20051,116Not reported12 of 12
20060Not reported12 of 12
20073,905Not reported12 of 12
200818,017Not reported12 of 12
2009168,641Not reported12 of 12
2010363,53415.1%12 of 12
2011356,42917.7%10 of 12
2012857,57735.6%12 of 12
2013375,112Not reported12 of 12
2014186,11723.5%4 of 12
2015509,04525.5%10 of 12
20161,480,37761.4%12 of 12
2017881,47336.7%12 of 12
20181,212,11750.4%12 of 12
20191,335,94855.6%12 of 12
20201,500,60362.2%12 of 12
2021682,99028.4%12 of 12
20221,318,02454.8%12 of 12
20231,128,12546.9%12 of 12
20241,432,61659.4%12 of 12
20251,137,62347.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)789,83256.6%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

529,178

US short tons. 2024: 646,708

SO₂, 2025

3

US short tons

NOx, 2025

160

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.47 t

About 930 lb per MWh

1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT-1), matched to EIA plant 55242 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CT01Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle200.0June 2003
ST01Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle74.5June 2003

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Santa Rosa Energy Center LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Santa Rosa Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Santa Rosa

Questions about Santa Rosa

How much power does Santa Rosa Energy Center produce?

Santa Rosa Energy Center reported 1,137,623 MWh (1.14 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 47.3% capacity factor on 274.5 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 790 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Santa Rosa Energy Center?

Santa Rosa Energy Center is in Santa Rosa County, Florida, at 30.5664, −87.1150. It is in the Florida Power & Light Company balancing area (FPL).

Who operates Santa Rosa Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Santa Rosa Energy Center LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 54692). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Santa Rosa Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 2003, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page