Union Power Station
Natural gas power plant in Union County, Arkansas. 2,428 MW of nameplate capacity across 12 generators, operated by Entergy Arkansas LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 55380
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 2,428 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 12 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Entergy Arkansas LLCEIA operator ID 814
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 16 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Union County, AR33.2961, −92.5894
- EIA plant ID
- 55380EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Union produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
10.1 TWh
10,096,173 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
47.5%
2024: 51.2%
January to July 2026
7.32 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
9.5–13.4
TWh a year. Low 2016, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 2,603,284 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,900,927 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 4,464,749 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 3,581,910 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,546,418 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 4,215,142 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,376,869 | 30.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 7,190,174 | 33.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 9,911,292 | 46.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 6,267,016 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 6,248,560 | 29.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 7,810,737 | 40.1% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 9,459,445 | 44.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 9,869,062 | 46.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 10,305,177 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 11,267,495 | 53.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 9,620,710 | 45.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 11,206,830 | 52.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 12,788,417 | 60.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 13,416,477 | 63.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 9,989,430 | 51.2% | 11 of 12 |
| 2025 | 10,096,173 | 47.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 7,323,646 | 59.3% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
4.36M
US short tons. 2024: 4.61M
SO₂, 2025
22
US short tons
NOx, 2025
498
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.43 t
About 864 lb per MWh
8 of 8 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CTG-1, CTG-2, CTG-3, CTG-4, CTG-5, CTG-6, CTG-7, CTG-8), matched to EIA plant 55380 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
2,742
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
2,742
million gallons
Source
Ouachita River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.209
USGS SUI, HUC12 Amason Creek
48 of 48 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | January 2003 |
| CTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | January 2003 |
| CTG3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | April 2003 |
| CTG4 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | April 2003 |
| CTG5 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | May 2003 |
| CTG6 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | May 2003 |
| CTG7 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | June 2003 |
| CTG8 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 176.0 | June 2003 |
| STG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 255.0 | January 2003 |
| STG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 255.0 | April 2003 |
| STG3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 255.0 | May 2003 |
| STG4 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 255.0 | June 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Entergy Arkansas LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Union Power Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Union
More plants operated by Entergy Arkansas LLC
Questions about Union
How much power does Union Power Station produce?
Union Power Station reported 10,096,173 MWh (10.1 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 47.5% capacity factor on 2,428 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 7.32 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Union Power Station?
Union Power Station is in Union County, Arkansas, at 33.2961, −92.5894. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Union Power Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Entergy Arkansas LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 814). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Union Power Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Union Power Station?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 16 price nodes linked to Union Power Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page