Athens Generating Plant
Natural gas power plant in Greene County, New York. 1,221.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by New Athens Generating Company LLC.
Also known as Athens Generating Gas Power Plant · EIA plant 55405
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,221.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 2003First generator online
- Operator
- New Athens Generating Company LLCEIA operator ID 32173
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- 3 NYISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Greene County, NY42.2728, −73.8492
- EIA plant ID
- 55405EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Athens Generating Plant produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.82 TWh
2,817,897 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
26.3%
2024: 37.0%
January to July 2026
1.54 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
1.8–4.3
TWh a year. Low 2021, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 2,198,536 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,825,685 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 4,384,439 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 4,927,348 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 477,649 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,794,663 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,108,163 | 52.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 4,130,439 | 35.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,732,171 | 49.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 3,584,948 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,782,680 | 22.9% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 3,147,600 | 29.4% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 3,970,483 | 34.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 3,891,270 | 33.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,619,820 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,917,147 | 27.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,962,715 | 18.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,770,428 | 16.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,337,255 | 40.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,836,824 | 17.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,970,125 | 37.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,817,897 | 26.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,535,278 | 24.7% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · NYISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.36M
US short tons. 2024: 1.67M
SO₂, 2025
7
US short tons
NOx, 2025
91
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.48 t
About 964 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3), matched to EIA plant 55405 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
Not reported
million gallons as reported; not used, see note
Consumption, 2024
Not reported
million gallons
Source
Not reported
Dry cooling
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.140
USGS SUI, HUC12 Murderers Creek-Hudson River
0 of 36 cooling months report withdrawal. Dry cooling with no reported withdrawal; not tested. Consumption is below 5% of a large reported withdrawal, so the withdrawal is not used. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 270.3 | April 2004 |
| CT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 270.3 | May 2004 |
| CT3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 270.3 | April 2003 |
| ST1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 136.9 | January 2004 |
| ST2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 136.9 | January 2004 |
| ST3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 136.9 | January 2004 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists New Athens Generating Company LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Athens Generating Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Athens Generating Plant
Questions about Athens Generating Plant
How much power does Athens Generating Plant produce?
Athens Generating Plant reported 2,817,897 MWh (2.82 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 26.3% capacity factor on 1,221.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.54 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Athens Generating Plant?
Athens Generating Plant is in Greene County, New York, at 42.2728, −73.8492. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Athens Generating Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists New Athens Generating Company LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 32173). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Athens Generating Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Athens Generating Plant?
Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 3 price nodes linked to Athens Generating Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page