Combined Locks Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in Outagamie County, Wisconsin. 66.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by McKinley Paper.
Also known as EIA plant 55558
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 66.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2002First generator online
- Operator
- McKinley PaperEIA operator ID 744
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Outagamie County, WI44.2717, −88.3011
- EIA plant ID
- 55558EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Combined Locks produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
302 GWh
301,616 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
51.8%
2024: 53.1%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.0–402.8
GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 0 | Not reported | 2 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | 175,998 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 97,532 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 113,210 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 45,659 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 74,629 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 43,052 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 33,863 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 24,136 | 5.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 23,706 | 5.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 6,835 | 1.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 4 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 0 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 0 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 132,215 | 22.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 288,118 | 49.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 362,487 | 62.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 402,830 | 69.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 393,170 | 67.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 327,098 | 56.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 376,300 | 64.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 310,442 | 53.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 301,616 | 51.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
162,825
US short tons. 2024: 173,633
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
15
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.54 t
About 1,080 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (B06), matched to EIA plant 55558 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 60.5 | May 2002 |
| GEN2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 6.0 | May 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists McKinley Paper as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Combined Locks Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Combined Locks
Questions about Combined Locks
How much power does Combined Locks Energy Center produce?
Combined Locks Energy Center reported 301,616 MWh (302 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 51.8% capacity factor on 66.5 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Combined Locks Energy Center?
Combined Locks Energy Center is in Outagamie County, Wisconsin, at 44.2717, −88.3011. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Combined Locks Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists McKinley Paper as the operator (EIA operator ID 744). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Combined Locks Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2002, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Combined Locks Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Combined Locks Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page