Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC
Natural gas power plant in Kern County, California. 779 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by Calpine Corp - Pastoria Energy Center.
Also known as Pastoria Energy Facility · EIA plant 55656
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 779 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2005First generator online
- Operator
- Calpine Corp - Pastoria Energy CenterEIA operator ID 2820
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Kern County, CA34.9556, −118.8440
- EIA plant ID
- 55656EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Pastoria Energy Facility produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.62 TWh
3,620,488 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
53.1%
2024: 58.6%
January to July 2026
1.50 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.3–4.8
TWh a year. Low 2022, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,514,221 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 4,649,165 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 4,843,618 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 4,914,751 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 4,979,707 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 4,336,307 | 63.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,910,184 | 42.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 4,384,374 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 4,992,677 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 3,505,016 | 76.5% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,784,662 | 70.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,365,684 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 3,875,841 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,325,910 | 63.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 4,060,797 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 4,341,226 | 63.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,259,151 | 62.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,294,307 | 48.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,337,317 | 63.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,007,072 | 58.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,620,488 | 53.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,496,061 | 37.7% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.66M
US short tons. 2024: 1.83M
SO₂, 2025
8
US short tons
NOx, 2025
83
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.46 t
About 916 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT001, CT002, CT004), matched to EIA plant 55656 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
993
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
993
million gallons
Source
Wheeler Ridge Maricopa Water Dist.
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Severe · 0.992
USGS SUI, HUC12 Pastoria Creek
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT01 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 168.0 | July 2005 |
| CT02 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 168.0 | July 2005 |
| CT04 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 168.0 | May 2005 |
| ST03 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 185.0 | July 2005 |
| ST05 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 90.0 | May 2005 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Calpine Corp - Pastoria Energy Center as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Pastoria Energy Facility
Questions about Pastoria Energy Facility
How much power does Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC produce?
Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC reported 3,620,488 MWh (3.62 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 53.1% capacity factor on 779 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.50 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC?
Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC is in Kern County, California, at 34.9556, −118.8440. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Calpine Corp - Pastoria Energy Center as the operator (EIA operator ID 2820). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2005, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Pastoria Energy Facility, LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page