Natural gasOperatingPSCO

Rocky Mountain Energy Center

Natural gas power plant in Weld County, Colorado. 685.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Public Service Co of Colorado.

Also known as EIA plant 55835

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

OverlandKeenesburg Battery StorageMountain Peak Power StationRattlesnake Ridge Battery StorageSR Jenkins Ft LuptonSR Platte Solar FarmRocky Mountain5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 13 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
685.1 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 2004First generator online
Operator
Public Service Co of ColoradoEIA operator ID 15466
Grid
PSCOBalancing authority PSCO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Weld County, CO40.0908, −104.5953
EIA plant ID
55835EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Rocky Mountain produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

2.43 TWh

2,434,967 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

40.6%

2024: 48.7%

January to July 2026

1.69 TWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

1.8–3.0

TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2020

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20042,095,895Not reported8 of 12
20053,155,781Not reported12 of 12
20062,899,884Not reported12 of 12
20073,220,560Not reported12 of 12
20083,383,043Not reported12 of 12
20093,562,922Not reported12 of 12
20102,908,57447.1%12 of 12
20112,665,042Not reported12 of 12
20122,451,43640.7%12 of 12
20131,776,958Not reported12 of 12
20142,452,79440.9%12 of 12
20151,848,02730.8%12 of 12
20161,860,52530.9%12 of 12
20171,975,43132.9%12 of 12
20182,315,65938.6%12 of 12
20192,531,68242.2%12 of 12
20203,039,70950.5%12 of 12
20211,985,74433.1%12 of 12
20222,540,67642.3%12 of 12
20232,384,57539.7%12 of 12
20242,933,44748.7%12 of 12
20252,434,96740.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)1,688,42348.4%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

1.19M

US short tons. 2024: 1.42M

SO₂, 2025

6

US short tons

NOx, 2025

93

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.49 t

About 978 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55835 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

640

million gallons

Consumption, 2024

640

million gallons

Source

Wells

Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower

Watershed stress

High · 0.691

USGS SUI, HUC12 Jim Creek-Box Elder Creek

12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CTG1Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle175.1May 2004
CTG2Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle175.1May 2004
STG1Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle334.9May 2004

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Public Service Co of Colorado as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Rocky Mountain Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Rocky Mountain

More plants operated by Public Service Co of Colorado

Questions about Rocky Mountain

How much power does Rocky Mountain Energy Center produce?

Rocky Mountain Energy Center reported 2,434,967 MWh (2.43 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 40.6% capacity factor on 685.1 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.69 TWh, which is provisional.

Where is Rocky Mountain Energy Center?

Rocky Mountain Energy Center is in Weld County, Colorado, at 40.0908, −104.5953. It is in the Public Service Company of Colorado balancing area (PSCO).

Who operates Rocky Mountain Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Public Service Co of Colorado as the operator (EIA operator ID 15466). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Rocky Mountain Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 2004, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page