Natural gasOperatingAECI

Macon Energy Center

Natural gas power plant in Macon County, Missouri. 10 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by City of Macon - (MO).

Also known as EIA plant 56127

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Macon Solar Power ProjectShelbina Power #3Thomas HillLa PlataMacon20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 32 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
10 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 2003First generator online
Operator
City of Macon - (MO)EIA operator ID 11460
Grid
AECIBalancing authority AECI
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Macon County, MO39.7490, −92.3845
EIA plant ID
56127EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Macon produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

88.2 GWh

88,240 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

100.7%

2024: 91.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

65.3–90.3

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20033,112Not reported12 of 12
200478,310Not reported12 of 12
200575,070Not reported12 of 12
200676,794Not reported12 of 12
200778,539Not reported12 of 12
200882,207Not reported12 of 12
200972,936Not reported12 of 12
201079,10590.3%12 of 12
201183,50995.3%12 of 12
201284,28195.9%12 of 12
201361,83570.6%12 of 12
201486,67798.9%12 of 12
201565,29874.5%12 of 12
201676,09786.6%12 of 12
201776,40887.2%12 of 12
201886,94899.3%12 of 12
201986,22898.4%12 of 12
202088,219100.4%12 of 12
202189,078101.7%12 of 12
202290,336103.1%12 of 12
202387,29599.7%12 of 12
202480,70291.9%12 of 12
202588,240100.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine10.0May 2003

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Macon - (MO) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Macon Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Macon

Questions about Macon

How much power does Macon Energy Center produce?

Macon Energy Center reported 88,240 MWh (88.2 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 100.7% capacity factor on 10 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Macon Energy Center?

Macon Energy Center is in Macon County, Missouri, at 39.7490, −92.3845. It is in the Associated Electric Cooperative, Inc. balancing area (AECI).

Who operates Macon Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Macon - (MO) as the operator (EIA operator ID 11460). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Macon Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 2003, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page