Natural gasOperatingLGEE

PPS Power Plant No 1

Natural gas power plant in McCracken County, Kentucky. 120 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Paducah Power System.

Also known as PPS Power Plant #1 · EIA plant 56556

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

ShawneeSmithland Hydroelectr…Calvert CityBarkleyPPS Power Plant No 120 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 35 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
120 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 2010First generator online
Operator
Paducah Power SystemEIA operator ID 55772
Grid
LGEEBalancing authority LGEE
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
McCracken County, KY37.0339, −88.6159
EIA plant ID
56556EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power PPS Power Plant No 1 produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

154 GWh

153,508 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

14.6%

2024: 10.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

12.3–153.5

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2025

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201123,8242.3%12 of 12
201222,4832.1%12 of 12
20136,3330.6%12 of 12
20146,0440.6%12 of 12
201512,2861.2%12 of 12
201612,5191.2%12 of 12
201736,6793.5%12 of 12
201843,9324.2%12 of 12
201929,5462.8%12 of 12
202031,4723.0%12 of 12
202121,1072.0%12 of 12
202272,0346.9%12 of 12
2023124,82311.9%12 of 12
2024109,43110.4%12 of 12
2025153,50814.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

90,919

US short tons. 2024: 71,410

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

70

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.59 t

About 1,185 lb per MWh

4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (EU01A, EU01B, EU02A, EU02B), matched to EIA plant 56556 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine60.0June 2010
2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine60.0June 2010

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Paducah Power System as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query PPS Power Plant No 1 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near PPS Power Plant No 1

Questions about PPS Power Plant No 1

How much power does PPS Power Plant No 1 produce?

PPS Power Plant No 1 reported 153,508 MWh (154 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 14.6% capacity factor on 120 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is PPS Power Plant No 1?

PPS Power Plant No 1 is in McCracken County, Kentucky, at 37.0339, −88.6159. It is in the Louisville Gas and Electric Company and Kentucky Utilities Company balancing area (LGEE).

Who operates PPS Power Plant No 1?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Paducah Power System as the operator (EIA operator ID 55772). The operator is not always the owner.

When did PPS Power Plant No 1 start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 2010, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page