Shane's Wind Machine
Wind power plant in Pipestone County, Minnesota. 1.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Shane's Wind Machine LLC.
Also known as Shane Colwell · EIA plant 56577
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1.3 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2006First generator online
- Operator
- Shane's Wind Machine LLCEIA operator ID 55832
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Pipestone County, MN44.1508, −96.1361
- EIA plant ID
- 56577EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Shane's Wind Machine produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
420 MWh
420 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
3.7%
2024: 59.2%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.4–7.8
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,588 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,704 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 4,145 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 6,455 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,738 | 59.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 4,293 | 37.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 7,271 | 63.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 7,603 | 66.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 8,392 | 73.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 7,783 | 68.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,577 | 40.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 6,291 | 55.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 6,237 | 54.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 5,002 | 43.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,171 | 45.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 6,169 | 54.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 6,385 | 56.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,967 | 43.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 6,756 | 59.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 420 | 3.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Onshore Wind Turbine | 1.3 | July 2006 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Shane's Wind Machine LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Shane's Wind Machine and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Shane's Wind Machine
Questions about Shane's Wind Machine
How much power does Shane's Wind Machine produce?
Shane's Wind Machine reported 420 MWh (420 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 3.7% capacity factor on 1.3 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Shane's Wind Machine?
Shane's Wind Machine is in Pipestone County, Minnesota, at 44.1508, −96.1361. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Shane's Wind Machine?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Shane's Wind Machine LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 55832). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Shane's Wind Machine start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2006, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page