WindOperatingERCOT

Goat Wind LP

Wind power plant in Sterling County, Texas. 149.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Goat Wind LLC.

Also known as Goat Phase I · Goat Phase II · EIA plant 56754

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Bluebell Solar IIBluebell SolarJameson Gas Processing PlantAviator WindGoat Wind LP10 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 21 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
149.6 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
April 2008First generator online
Operator
Goat Wind LLCEIA operator ID 64644
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
1 ERCOT nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Sterling County, TX31.9519, −100.7914
EIA plant ID
56754EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Goat Wind LP produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

271 GWh

271,373 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

20.7%

2024: 16.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

222.5–417.1

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008132,512Not reported9 of 12
2009256,543Not reported12 of 12
2010390,20729.8%12 of 12
2011410,41231.3%12 of 12
2012425,96732.4%12 of 12
2013422,19232.2%12 of 12
2014425,48532.5%12 of 12
2015360,90027.5%12 of 12
2016415,96931.7%12 of 12
2017417,11631.8%12 of 12
2018414,01131.6%12 of 12
2019402,86630.7%12 of 12
2020304,36423.2%12 of 12
2021387,83329.6%12 of 12
2022233,91417.8%12 of 12
2023245,72718.8%12 of 12
2024222,54416.9%12 of 12
2025271,37320.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Onshore Wind Turbine80.0April 2008
2Onshore Wind Turbine69.6June 2009

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Goat Wind LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Goat Wind LP and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Goat Wind LP

Questions about Goat Wind LP

How much power does Goat Wind LP produce?

Goat Wind LP reported 271,373 MWh (271 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 20.7% capacity factor on 149.6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Goat Wind LP?

Goat Wind LP is in Sterling County, Texas, at 31.9519, −100.7914. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Goat Wind LP?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Goat Wind LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 64644). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Goat Wind LP start operating?

Its first generator began operating in April 2008, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Goat Wind LP?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Goat Wind LP, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page