WindOperatingSPP

Great Plains Windpark LLC

Wind power plant in Hansford County, Texas. 114 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Great Plains Windpark Legacy LLC.

Also known as Noble Great Plains Windpark · Noble Great Plains · EIA plant 56905

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Porterhouse Wind (4) LLCGoodwell Wind Project…Great Prairie WindTri County - TenKGreat Plains Windpark25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 44 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
114 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 2009First generator online
Operator
Great Plains Windpark Legacy LLCEIA operator ID 61671
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Hansford County, TX36.4964, −101.3917
EIA plant ID
56905EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Great Plains Windpark produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

89.2 GWh

89,157 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

8.9%

2024: 10.7%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

89.2–330.8

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009374,869Not reported12 of 12
2010390,64639.1%12 of 12
2011395,61339.6%12 of 12
2012373,15637.3%12 of 12
2013369,08737.0%12 of 12
2014351,60235.2%12 of 12
2015280,49828.1%12 of 12
2016240,85224.1%12 of 12
2017176,09917.6%12 of 12
2018330,78433.1%12 of 12
2019277,99527.8%12 of 12
2020262,62426.2%12 of 12
2021185,27318.6%12 of 12
2022146,40714.7%12 of 12
2023127,73512.8%12 of 12
2024107,12210.7%12 of 12
202589,1578.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Onshore Wind Turbine114.0January 2009

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Great Plains Windpark Legacy LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Great Plains Windpark LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Great Plains Windpark

Questions about Great Plains Windpark

How much power does Great Plains Windpark LLC produce?

Great Plains Windpark LLC reported 89,157 MWh (89.2 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 8.9% capacity factor on 114 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Great Plains Windpark LLC?

Great Plains Windpark LLC is in Hansford County, Texas, at 36.4964, −101.3917. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Great Plains Windpark LLC?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Great Plains Windpark Legacy LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 61671). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Great Plains Windpark LLC start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 2009, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Great Plains Windpark LLC?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Great Plains Windpark LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page