WindOperatingMISO

Carleton College

Wind power plant in Rice County, Minnesota. 3.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Carleton College.

Also known as EIA plant 57296

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Lyman GardenUnion GardenNorthfield Holdco CSGSt. Olaf Wind TurbineNorthfield Community SolarCarleton College1 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 3.7 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
3.2 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 2004First generator online
Operator
Carleton CollegeEIA operator ID 56654
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Rice County, MN44.4619, −93.1564
EIA plant ID
57296EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Carleton College produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

8.01 GWh

8,008 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

11.7%

2024: 12.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

4.1–9.2

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2015

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20104,056Not reported12 of 12
20114,815Not reported12 of 12
20128,36412.2%12 of 12
20138,73612.8%12 of 12
20149,65414.1%12 of 12
20159,22113.5%12 of 12
20168,81712.9%12 of 12
20178,11811.9%12 of 12
20188,31812.2%12 of 12
20198,12211.9%12 of 12
20207,71511.3%12 of 12
20216,86010.0%12 of 12
20224,8097.0%12 of 12
20234,0816.0%12 of 12
20248,47412.4%12 of 12
20258,00811.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
WIND1Onshore Wind Turbine1.6September 2004
WIND2Onshore Wind Turbine1.6October 2011

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Carleton College as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Carleton College and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Carleton College

Questions about Carleton College

How much power does Carleton College produce?

Carleton College reported 8,008 MWh (8.01 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 11.7% capacity factor on 3.2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Carleton College?

Carleton College is in Rice County, Minnesota, at 44.4619, −93.1564. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Carleton College?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Carleton College as the operator (EIA operator ID 56654). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Carleton College start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 2004, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Carleton College?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Carleton College, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page