SolarOperatingSPP

SPS3 Lea

Solar power plant in Lea County, New Mexico. 10 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by SunE SPS3, LLC.

Also known as SunE SPS3 Lea · EIA plant 57738

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

SPS4 MonumentCunninghamMaddoxSPS2 JalCunningham Solar I & BESSSPS3 Lea20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 35 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
10 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 2011First generator online
Operator
SunE SPS3, LLCEIA operator ID 57057
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Lea County, NM32.4697, −103.3233
EIA plant ID
57738EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power SPS3 Lea produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

22.7 GWh

22,713 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

25.9%

2024: 26.2%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

11.5–23.0

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011974Not reported12 of 12
201223,42826.7%12 of 12
201322,86626.1%12 of 12
201422,33125.5%12 of 12
201520,60123.5%12 of 12
201611,53513.1%12 of 12
201716,02718.3%12 of 12
201818,93921.6%12 of 12
201918,20920.8%12 of 12
202021,50224.5%12 of 12
202120,92023.9%12 of 12
202220,23223.1%12 of 12
202323,03826.3%12 of 12
202423,00326.2%12 of 12
202522,71325.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Solar Photovoltaic10.0November 2011

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists SunE SPS3, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query SPS3 Lea and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near SPS3 Lea

Questions about SPS3 Lea

How much power does SPS3 Lea produce?

SPS3 Lea reported 22,713 MWh (22.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 25.9% capacity factor on 10 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is SPS3 Lea?

SPS3 Lea is in Lea County, New Mexico, at 32.4697, −103.3233. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates SPS3 Lea?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists SunE SPS3, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 57057). The operator is not always the owner.

When did SPS3 Lea start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 2011, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for SPS3 Lea?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to SPS3 Lea, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page