SolarOperatingCAISO

Vega Solar

Solar power plant in Merced County, California. 20 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Vega Solar, LLC.

Also known as EIA plant 59555

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Lara 2 HybridMerced 1 PVOro LomaAlthea Avenue SolarWright Solar ParkDos Palos Clean PowerVega Solar5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 18 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
20 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 2015First generator online
Operator
Vega Solar, LLCEIA operator ID 59298
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Merced County, CA36.9258, −120.8200
EIA plant ID
59555EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Vega Solar produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

49.3 GWh

49,280 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

28.1%

2024: 29.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2016 to 2025

43.1–52.3

GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201530,651Not reported10 of 12
201652,29329.8%12 of 12
201750,94029.1%12 of 12
201851,42629.4%12 of 12
201949,15528.1%12 of 12
202043,08324.5%12 of 12
202149,99028.5%12 of 12
202247,03326.8%12 of 12
202347,74227.3%12 of 12
202451,09929.1%12 of 12
202549,28028.1%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
VEGA1Solar Photovoltaic20.0March 2015

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Vega Solar, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Vega Solar and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Vega Solar

Questions about Vega Solar

How much power does Vega Solar produce?

Vega Solar reported 49,280 MWh (49.3 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 28.1% capacity factor on 20 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Vega Solar?

Vega Solar is in Merced County, California, at 36.9258, −120.8200. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Vega Solar?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Vega Solar, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 59298). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Vega Solar start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 2015, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Vega Solar?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Vega Solar, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page