Greenwood (MI)
Natural gas power plant in St Clair County, Michigan. 1,071.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by DTE Electric Company.
Also known as Greenwood Energy Center Industrial Park · EIA plant 6035
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,071.3 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 1979First generator online
- Operator
- DTE Electric CompanyEIA operator ID 5109
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 4 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- St Clair County, MI43.1056, −82.6964
- EIA plant ID
- 6035EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Greenwood (MI) produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.25 TWh
1,249,697 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
13.3%
2024: 15.5%
January to July 2026
1.01 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.2–1.5
TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 1,115,973 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 919,256 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 1,170,155 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 625,067 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 455,280 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 757,414 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 307,174 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 422,553 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 257,050 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 177,219 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 536,155 | 5.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 373,696 | 4.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,570 | 0.4% | 1 of 12 |
| 2013 | 369,380 | 3.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 223,994 | 3.6% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 202,094 | 2.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 529,535 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 524,970 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 806,797 | 8.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 947,511 | 10.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 954,181 | 10.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 795,795 | 8.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 454,549 | 4.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,025,497 | 10.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,455,441 | 15.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,249,697 | 13.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,009,278 | 18.5% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
860,435
US short tons. 2024: 837,326
SO₂, 2025
4
US short tons
NOx, 2025
719
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.69 t
About 1,377 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, CTG111, CTG112, CTG121), matched to EIA plant 6035 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
78,762
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
0
million gallons
Source
Municipal
Surface, Fresh. Recirculating with cooling pond
Watershed stress
Low · 0.200
USGS SUI, HUC12 Silver Creek
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Cooling-pond plants report water circulated through the pond as withdrawal, so withdrawal is far above consumption. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 815.4 | July 1979 |
| 11-1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 85.3 | September 1999 |
| 11-2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 85.3 | September 1999 |
| 11-3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 85.3 | September 1999 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists DTE Electric Company as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Greenwood (MI) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Greenwood (MI)
More plants operated by DTE Electric Company
Questions about Greenwood (MI)
How much power does Greenwood (MI) produce?
Greenwood (MI) reported 1,249,697 MWh (1.25 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 13.3% capacity factor on 1,071.3 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.01 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Greenwood (MI)?
Greenwood (MI) is in St Clair County, Michigan, at 43.1056, −82.6964. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Greenwood (MI)?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists DTE Electric Company as the operator (EIA operator ID 5109). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Greenwood (MI) start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 1979, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Greenwood (MI)?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Greenwood (MI), with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page