AES Lawai Solar Hybrid
Solar and battery storage project in Kauai County, Hawaii. 40 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by AES Distributed Energy.
Also known as EIA plant 61068
This project groups AES Lawai Solar Hybrid (EIA 61068). EIA reports them as separate plants.
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 40 MWSolar 20.0 · Battery storage 20.0
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 2018First generator online
- Operator
- AES Distributed EnergyEIA operator ID 61012
- Grid
- Not reported
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Kauai County, HI21.9082, −159.4920
- EIA plant ID
- 61068EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power AES Lawai Solar Hybrid produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
40.2 GWh
40,226 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
23.4%
2024: 20.8%
January to July 2026
23.3 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2019 to 2025
33.2–40.2
GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | 0 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2019 | 37,501 | 21.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 38,888 | 22.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 38,993 | 22.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 33,183 | 19.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 35,494 | 20.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 36,098 | 20.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 40,226 | 23.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 23,252 | 23.2% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| LAWA1 | Solar Photovoltaic | 20.0 | December 2018 |
| LAWA2 | Batteries | 20.0 | December 2018 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists AES Distributed Energy as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query AES Lawai Solar Hybrid and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near AES Lawai Solar Hybrid
More plants operated by AES Distributed Energy
Questions about AES Lawai Solar Hybrid
How much power does AES Lawai Solar Hybrid produce?
AES Lawai Solar Hybrid reported 40,226 MWh (40.2 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 23.4% capacity factor on 40 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 23.3 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is AES Lawai Solar Hybrid?
AES Lawai Solar Hybrid is in Kauai County, Hawaii, at 21.9082, −159.4920.
Who operates AES Lawai Solar Hybrid?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists AES Distributed Energy as the operator (EIA operator ID 61012). The operator is not always the owner.
Is AES Lawai Solar Hybrid a solar or a battery storage plant?
Both. Solar capacity totals 20 MW and battery storage capacity totals 20 MW.
When did AES Lawai Solar Hybrid start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 2018, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page