Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility
Hydro power plant in Wrangell Petersburg, Alaska. 22.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Southeast Alaska Power Agency.
Also known as Tyee Hydro Facility · EIA plant 61166
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 22.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 1983First generator online
- Operator
- Southeast Alaska Power AgencyEIA operator ID 60123
- Grid
- NABalancing authority NA
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Wrangell Petersburg, AK56.2164, −131.5043
- EIA plant ID
- 61166EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
103 GWh
103,420 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
52.2%
2024: 63.5%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2016 to 2025
76.0–126.0
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | 96,901 | 48.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 111,574 | 56.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 117,206 | 59.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 75,977 | 38.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 89,657 | 45.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 88,071 | 44.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 107,547 | 54.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 119,089 | 60.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 125,976 | 63.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 103,420 | 52.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| UNIT1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 11.3 | July 1983 |
| UNIT2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 11.3 | July 1983 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southeast Alaska Power Agency as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility
More plants operated by Southeast Alaska Power Agency
Questions about Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility
How much power does Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility produce?
Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility reported 103,420 MWh (103 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 52.2% capacity factor on 22.6 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility?
Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility is in Wrangell Petersburg, Alaska, at 56.2164, −131.5043. It is in the No BA balancing area (NA).
Who operates Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southeast Alaska Power Agency as the operator (EIA operator ID 60123). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Tyee Lake Hydroelectric Facility start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 1983, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page