Richard B Russell
Hydro and pumped storage power plant in Elbert County, Georgia. 382 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by USCE-Savannah District.
Also known as Richard B. Russell Dam · EIA plant 6132
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 382 MWHydro 300.0 · Pumped storage 82.0
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1985First generator online
- Operator
- USCE-Savannah DistrictEIA operator ID 19375
- Grid
- SEPABalancing authority SEPA
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Elbert County, GA34.0256, −82.5953
- EIA plant ID
- 6132EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Richard B Russell produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
257 GWh
256,681 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
68.5 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
108.6–663.8
GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 248,281 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 209,254 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 342,217 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 556,045 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 339,085 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 577,373 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 540,235 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 492,772 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 453,567 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 492,422 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 557,302 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 201,843 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 147,417 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 435,894 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 350,213 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 250,362 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 310,354 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 108,609 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 442,696 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 499,588 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 663,829 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 596,355 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 308,815 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 330,631 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 351,492 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 256,681 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 68,463 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 75.0 | January 1985 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 75.0 | February 1985 |
| 3 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 75.0 | July 1985 |
| 4 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 75.0 | January 1986 |
| 7 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 82.0 | September 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists USCE-Savannah District as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Richard B Russell and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Richard B Russell
More plants operated by USCE-Savannah District
Questions about Richard B Russell
How much power does Richard B Russell produce?
Richard B Russell reported 256,681 MWh (257 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 68.5 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Richard B Russell?
Richard B Russell is in Elbert County, Georgia, at 34.0256, −82.5953. It is in the Southeastern Power Administration balancing area (SEPA).
Who operates Richard B Russell?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists USCE-Savannah District as the operator (EIA operator ID 19375). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Richard B Russell a hydro or a pumped storage plant?
Both. Hydro capacity totals 300 MW and pumped storage capacity totals 82 MW.
When did Richard B Russell start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1985, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page