HydroOperatingSEPA

Hartwell Lake

Hydro power plant in Hart County, Georgia. 335 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by USCE-Savannah District.

Also known as Hartwell Lake Dam · EIA plant 754

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

John S RaineyAnderson (SC)Rocky River (SC)Franklin MillikenBluebird Solar SC LLCHartwell Lake10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 28 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
335 MWNameplate
Generators
4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
April 1962First generator online
Operator
USCE-Savannah DistrictEIA operator ID 19375
Grid
SEPABalancing authority SEPA
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Hart County, GA34.3564, −82.8219
EIA plant ID
754EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Hartwell Lake produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

344 GWh

344,271 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

9.4%

2024: 11.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

250.5–734.3

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000263,153Not reported12 of 12
2001198,817Not reported12 of 12
2002250,202Not reported12 of 12
2003496,966Not reported12 of 12
2004519,913Not reported12 of 12
2005608,456Not reported12 of 12
2006335,969Not reported12 of 12
2007251,362Not reported12 of 12
2008219,865Not reported12 of 12
2009300,234Not reported12 of 12
2010481,19013.1%12 of 12
2011318,3338.7%12 of 12
2012283,8007.7%12 of 12
2013517,34914.1%12 of 12
2014451,36012.3%12 of 12
2015359,2829.8%12 of 12
2016437,21011.9%12 of 12
2017250,5146.8%12 of 12
2018536,35214.6%12 of 12
2019636,54117.3%12 of 12
2020734,28219.9%12 of 12
2021565,05915.4%12 of 12
2022423,44211.5%12 of 12
2023378,91910.3%12 of 12
2024422,61911.5%12 of 12
2025344,2719.4%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric85.0April 1962
2Conventional Hydroelectric85.0April 1962
4Conventional Hydroelectric85.0April 1962
5Conventional Hydroelectric80.0November 1983

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists USCE-Savannah District as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Hartwell Lake and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Hartwell Lake

More plants operated by USCE-Savannah District

Questions about Hartwell Lake

How much power does Hartwell Lake produce?

Hartwell Lake reported 344,271 MWh (344 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 9.4% capacity factor on 335 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Hartwell Lake?

Hartwell Lake is in Hart County, Georgia, at 34.3564, −82.8219. It is in the Southeastern Power Administration balancing area (SEPA).

Who operates Hartwell Lake?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists USCE-Savannah District as the operator (EIA operator ID 19375). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Hartwell Lake start operating?

Its first generator began operating in April 1962, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page