SolarOperatingTEC

Balm Solar

Solar power plant in Hillsborough County, Florida. 74.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Tampa Electric Co.

Also known as EIA plant 61654

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Wimauma Solar and Battery StorageLithia SolarGrange Hall SolarBullfrog Creek SolarCottonmouth Ranch SolarBig Bend 1 Solar and Battery StorageBalm Solar5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 15 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
74.4 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 2018First generator online
Operator
Tampa Electric CoEIA operator ID 18454
Grid
TECBalancing authority TEC
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Hillsborough County, FL27.7628, −82.2346
EIA plant ID
61654EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Balm Solar produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

140 GWh

139,924 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

21.5%

2024: 20.0%

January to July 2026

78.9 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2019 to 2025

100.2–149.5

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201824,189Not reported4 of 12
2019135,89920.9%12 of 12
2020149,51722.9%12 of 12
2021149,12422.9%12 of 12
2022126,73019.4%12 of 12
2023100,17815.4%12 of 12
2024130,82320.0%12 of 12
2025139,92421.5%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)78,92120.8%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
PV1Solar Photovoltaic74.4September 2018

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Tampa Electric Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Balm Solar and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Balm Solar

More plants operated by Tampa Electric Co

Questions about Balm Solar

How much power does Balm Solar produce?

Balm Solar reported 139,924 MWh (140 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 21.5% capacity factor on 74.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 78.9 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Balm Solar?

Balm Solar is in Hillsborough County, Florida, at 27.7628, −82.2346. It is in the Tampa Electric Company balancing area (TEC).

Who operates Balm Solar?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Tampa Electric Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 18454). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Balm Solar start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 2018, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page