Tolk
Coal power plant in Lamb County, Texas. 1,135.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Southwestern Public Service Co.
Also known as Tolk Generating Station · EIA plant 6194
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,135.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1982First generator online
- Operator
- Southwestern Public Service CoEIA operator ID 17718
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 2 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Lamb County, TX34.1865, −102.5700
- EIA plant ID
- 6194EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Tolk produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.91 TWh
2,911,290 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
29.3%
2024: 19.8%
January to July 2026
1.21 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.9–6.5
TWh a year. Low 2020, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 8,140,435 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 7,646,001 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 7,662,008 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 8,431,284 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 7,485,269 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 7,418,825 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 7,342,494 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 7,168,185 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 7,570,166 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 7,236,464 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 7,732,493 | 77.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 7,815,928 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 7,574,167 | 75.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 8,278,982 | 83.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,582,541 | 62.7% | 5 of 12 |
| 2015 | 6,488,120 | 65.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 5,689,191 | 57.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 5,171,485 | 52.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,810,060 | 38.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,741,753 | 27.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,859,369 | 18.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,491,884 | 25.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,587,953 | 26.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,707,618 | 27.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,974,156 | 19.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,911,290 | 29.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,213,413 | 21.0% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
3.24M
US short tons. 2024: 2.17M
SO₂, 2025
7,757
US short tons
NOx, 2025
2,693
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.11 t
About 2,224 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (171B, 172B), matched to EIA plant 6194 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,243
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,243
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Severe · 1.000
USGS SUI, HUC12 Soda Lake
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 567.9 | January 1982 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 567.9 | January 1985 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southwestern Public Service Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Tolk and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Tolk
More plants operated by Southwestern Public Service Co
Questions about Tolk
How much power does Tolk produce?
Tolk reported 2,911,290 MWh (2.91 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 29.3% capacity factor on 1,135.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.21 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Tolk?
Tolk is in Lamb County, Texas, at 34.1865, −102.5700. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Tolk?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southwestern Public Service Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 17718). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Tolk start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1982, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Tolk?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Tolk, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page