Valdez
Oil power plant in Valdez Cordova, Alaska. 8.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by Copper Valley Elec Assn, Inc.
Also known as EIA plant 6306
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 8.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1972First generator online
- Operator
- Copper Valley Elec Assn, IncEIA operator ID 4329
- Grid
- Not reported
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Valdez Cordova, AK61.1303, −146.3647
- EIA plant ID
- 6306EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Valdez produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
892 MWh
892 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
1.2%
2024: 5.6%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.9–9.1
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 2,600 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 2,453 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 4 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,267 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,349 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,608 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,260 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 1,467 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 11,267 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 3,970 | 4.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 7,338 | 8.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 4,426 | 5.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,075 | 6.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,007 | 2.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 2,233 | 2.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 5,050 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,383 | 1.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 888 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,104 | 4.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 4,821 | 6.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,642 | 4.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 9,129 | 12.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 8,704 | 11.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,238 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 892 | 1.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Petroleum Liquids | 1.9 | October 1972 |
| 5 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.6 | June 1975 |
| 6 | Petroleum Liquids | 0.9 | August 1974 |
| 11 | Petroleum Liquids | 1.6 | June 2017 |
| 12 | Petroleum Liquids | 1.6 | June 2017 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Copper Valley Elec Assn, Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Valdez and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Valdez
More plants operated by Copper Valley Elec Assn, Inc
Questions about Valdez
How much power does Valdez produce?
Valdez reported 892 MWh (892 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 1.2% capacity factor on 8.6 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Valdez?
Valdez is in Valdez Cordova, Alaska, at 61.1303, −146.3647.
Who operates Valdez?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Copper Valley Elec Assn, Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 4329). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Valdez start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1972, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page