Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen
Natural gas power plant in Essex County, New Jersey. 6.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen.
Also known as EIA plant 63540
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 6.2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Essex County Correctional Facility CogenEIA operator ID 63229
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Essex County, NJ40.7205, −74.1263
- EIA plant ID
- 63540EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
23.8 GWh
23,792 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
43.8%
2024: 43.1%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2019 to 2025
22.5–26.9
GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2019 | 23,616 | 43.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 22,654 | 41.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 26,057 | 48.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 26,886 | 49.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 22,523 | 41.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 23,463 | 43.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 23,792 | 43.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| EG1 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 3.1 | January 2003 |
| EG2 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 3.1 | January 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen
Questions about Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen
How much power does Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen produce?
Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen reported 23,792 MWh (23.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 43.8% capacity factor on 6.2 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen?
Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen is in Essex County, New Jersey, at 40.7205, −74.1263. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen as the operator (EIA operator ID 63229). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Essex County Correctional Facility Cogen start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page