SolarOperatingCAISO

Central 40

Solar power plant in Stanislaus County, California. 40 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Central 40, LLC.

Also known as Central 40 Solar Farm · EIA plant 63940

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Quinto Solar PV ProjectPaulsellFrontier Solar LLCONeillProximaW R GianelliCentral 4010 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 20 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
40 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
February 2021First generator online
Operator
Central 40, LLCEIA operator ID 63606
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Stanislaus County, CA37.2460, −121.1040
EIA plant ID
63940EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Central 40 produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

69.5 GWh

69,471 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

19.8%

2024: 19.5%

January to July 2026

44.4 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2022 to 2025

68.5–88.0

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
202194,995Not reported11 of 12
202287,97625.1%12 of 12
202370,02720.0%12 of 12
202468,51919.5%12 of 12
202569,47119.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)44,35721.8%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CEN40Solar Photovoltaic40.0February 2021

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Central 40, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Central 40 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Central 40

Questions about Central 40

How much power does Central 40 produce?

Central 40 reported 69,471 MWh (69.5 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 19.8% capacity factor on 40 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 44.4 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Central 40?

Central 40 is in Stanislaus County, California, at 37.2460, −121.1040. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Central 40?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Central 40, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 63606). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Central 40 start operating?

Its first generator began operating in February 2021, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Central 40?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Central 40, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page