Battery storageOperatingSPP

South Sioux City Energy Storage

Battery storage project in Dakota County, Nebraska. 1.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by DG Nebraska Energy Storage, LLC.

Also known as EIA plant 65098

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

South Sioux City SolarNeal Energy Center SolarGeorge Neal NorthGeorge Neal SouthEmersonRattlesnake Creek Wind ProjectSouth Sioux City Ener…20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 35 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1.5 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 2020First generator online
Operator
DG Nebraska Energy Storage, LLCEIA operator ID 64486
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Dakota County, NE42.4331, −96.4072
EIA plant ID
65098EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power South Sioux City Energy Storage produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

−87 MWh

−87 MWh, final

Battery discharge, 2025

217 MWh

Charge 303 MWh

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2024 to 2025

−87.0–0.0

MWh a year. Low 2025, high 2024

Annual net generation, MWh
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2021Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2022Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2023Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20240Not reported12 of 12
2025−87Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
SSCESBatteries1.5December 2020

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists DG Nebraska Energy Storage, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query South Sioux City Energy Storage and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near South Sioux City Energy Storage

Questions about South Sioux City Energy Storage

How much power does South Sioux City Energy Storage produce?

South Sioux City Energy Storage reported −87 MWh (−87 MWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is South Sioux City Energy Storage?

South Sioux City Energy Storage is in Dakota County, Nebraska, at 42.4331, −96.4072. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates South Sioux City Energy Storage?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists DG Nebraska Energy Storage, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 64486). The operator is not always the owner.

When did South Sioux City Energy Storage start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 2020, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page