Boaz Microgrid Battery
Battery storage project in Richland County, Wisconsin. 3.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Wisconsin Power & Light Co.
Also known as EIA plant 65633
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 3.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2023First generator online
- Operator
- Wisconsin Power & Light CoEIA operator ID 20856
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Richland County, WI43.3106, −90.5327
- EIA plant ID
- 65633EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Boaz Microgrid Battery produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
−111 MWh
−111 MWh, final
Battery discharge, 2025
23 MWh
Charge 134 MWh
January to July 2026
−70 MWh
Provisional
Range, 2024 to 2025
−111.0–−94.0
MWh a year. Low 2025, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2023 | −58 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2024 | −94 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | −111 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | −70 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| BESS1 | Batteries | 3.6 | August 2023 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Wisconsin Power & Light Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Boaz Microgrid Battery and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Boaz Microgrid Battery
More plants operated by Wisconsin Power & Light Co
Questions about Boaz Microgrid Battery
How much power does Boaz Microgrid Battery produce?
Boaz Microgrid Battery reported −111 MWh (−111 MWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported −70 MWh, which is provisional.
Where is Boaz Microgrid Battery?
Boaz Microgrid Battery is in Richland County, Wisconsin, at 43.3106, −90.5327. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Boaz Microgrid Battery?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Wisconsin Power & Light Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 20856). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Boaz Microgrid Battery start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2023, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Boaz Microgrid Battery?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Boaz Microgrid Battery, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page